How do you install JAVA 8 on a new server?

I would like to start by mentioning that I am very new to Linux. I have been wanting to give MineOS a try for a while now and re-purposed an old Dell Optiplex to do it. I want to run multiple servers on it and haven’t had a problem getting vanilla servers to run with the newer versions of Minecraft. The problem that I am having is with the older versions, primarily with the forage versions. I have used the two forum posts tagged at the bottom to install JAVA 17 without issue so that I could run a 1.18 server. The problem that I am having is with JAVA 8 so that I can run forage 1.12.2 servers. Any help would be much appreciated.

Upgrading to Java 16 from the MineOS Turnkey ISO - Command-Line - MineOS Forum

Multiple Versions of Java on MineOS - Web-UI - MineOS Forum

I am also looking for this information, there doesn’t really seem to be any working guides on the web, the only success I have had is downloading the linux distro package for java 8 and using scp to transfer it from my windows machine (wget didn’t want to work for some reason) and installing the package from there.
Thanks Oracle, you broke a lot of shit, now we have to have an account to download it???
anyways, now mineos is saying: Java Version in Use: Error accessing location ‘undefined’

So that’s fun.
Also the “logging” doesn’t work anymore, I wish it would give us crash logs, but looking at the forums for this software, it looks abandoned.
But I will keep trying and eventually post my results here for all to see.

And now for some odd reason I cannot UNINSTALL java 17, I think I messed up the server so I reinstalled, and now I cannot uninstall java 17?
Ok this is weird…
To try mods and to see if they, I will first attempt a more recent version of MC that likes the newer java.
Perhaps the wayback machine will work for the old links…

2 Likes