Upgrading from Debian "Wheezy" to debian "Jessie" help

Forgive the total noobness here I play minecraft from a server that was set up with what I believe it the “wheezy” ISO from this link. http://minecraft.codeemo.com/mineoswiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

A friend set the server up for me and taught me how to use the webui to maintain the servers with the mc account. In attempting to upgrade to the latest version 1.12 in the webui i noticed the server wont start so I found this thread. [SOLVED] Newbie: Can't install 1.12 update and I think I understand what needs to be done but not sure how to go about it. I might be at a dead end.

If I understood everything correctly I need to be using the “jessie” ISO turnkey to support jdk8 to get the 1.12 server running. However when I connect to the server via winscp and try running the git fetch it says that it is denied. So I realize I need to log in as root but winscp doesn’t allow that without modifying some files I can’t modify unless I am root. I don’t have direct access to the server as my friend is on vacation for the next 3 weeks.

is there anything I can do remotely to upgrade to support jdk8 that I am missing? Or will I need to wait until he gets back to have root access to upgrade?

Forgive the total noobness here I have never messed with servers/linux based stuff ever.

Several different items to point out:

1. though you’re using Wheezy, you do not need to use Jessie in order to get JDK8. Using Jessie would mean a clean install of your entire OS, which is not likely what you want to do (even though it is one possible path)
  2. logging in as root is an easy configuration change.
  3. JDK8 can be installed via a “backport” repository–an official repo

Putting it all together:

You needn’t worry about the Jessie ISO; so long as you have the ability to get to root (first log in as the mc user, then type su -, which will prompt you for the root password to elevate).