Virtual Hosting -- Windows Server, VMware, KVM, VirtualBox

Can someone share their experience with Virtual machine options like Windows Server, VMware, KVM, VirtualBox etc,

I self host a single server KiqsRocks.com and have now purchased a Dell rack server where I plan to relocate my existing server and add 3 or 4 additional virtual machine. MineOS looks perfect for my plans, but I need to decide on the virtualization.

I have many years of software experience, Expert on windows, Competent on Linux, Some experience with VMware Player.

I believe supporting developers is the only way to ensure there work continues. If I decide to use MineOS I will be contributing to the cause for each virtual machine I run.

–Kiq

I have tried the following:

• Old VMware server software as a service on windows: Works, but is outdated and no longer properly run

• Windows server VM: Could not get a stable network connection, and could not get the *nix OS I used (probabaly ubuntu server) to accept the NIC presented by the VM. Probably config errors but I gave up.

• VMware OS type VM host: Needs (needed) spesific server hard hardware. As I build my own servers from home /gaming type hardware it laced support for a lot. Managed to get MineOS running, but again stranded on NIC support. This time it was the VM that would not recognise my HW NIC.

• Virtualbox: Running it now on a windows server. Needs addons to run *box as a service, and have a web GUI. Other than that: no issues.

My chosen MineOS environment is manually repositiory installed on Ubuntu server.

Thanks iMelsom, for your response. I hope others respond too.

If I understand, your server boots to Ubuntu and from there you run multiple Virtualbox machines running MineOS.

In the other configurations you had difficulty getting NIC to work. Just to be clear, you were unable to get internet traffic to forward to the virtual machines and/or could not get the virtual machines to see the internet. Is that correct?