Very slow webUI response. Confused as to cause

I’ve been running an FTB server for several months and recently started having problems.

FreeNAS 9.3 (plugin)
32 GB ram on a SuperMicro mobo with a Xeon CPU.

Problem 1 was the webUI disconnecting from the server. After 5 - 15 minutes from start, the server log would note: Disconnected from 127.0.0.1:xxxx. Although the server itself was unaffected, I’d have to restart the MineOS plugin and relog into the webUI to shut down the server.

Problem number 2 began a week or so ago. The webUI became increasingly slow and unresponsive. Logging in would take ~5 minutes (web browser would report: connecting). Once logged in, any command would likewise result in a several minute wait.

Problem 3 started yesterday… Once I finally get logged in, the server no longer shows. There’s no list of archives or backups, either. Refreshing the server list does not prove helpful

Today I decided to troubleshoot the problem which resulted in discombobulation. All the permissions checked out and I couldn’t find anything weird in the logs. I moved the server directory out of the jail and created a new server using the same FTB pack and minecraft version. I was able to log into the webUI without any delay. I moved the original server directory back and voila…everything slowed to a snail’s pace.

I am curious as to how something in the server directory could be causing such behavior. More importantly, how should I proceed if I want to keep the server?

Thanks

Are you using any mods or software that creates tens of thousands of files in your minecraft directory?

Also, when you log in, do you see your CPU being pegged at full?

Sorry for the delayed response.

At one time I had Dynmap installed, but dumped that a few months ago. Otherwise, the server is larger than typical and that may be causing the problem.

The load averages are generally not that high (usually float between 50-75%), but it refreshes at an injured snail’s pace.