Upgrading to Debian 9 Safe?

Keeping in mind that I’m a total noob in terms of Linux but I’m willing to learn, I ask you this: Upgrading to using “apt-get dist-upgrade” to Debian 9 Stretch is a safe move? Or is it even possible?

Thank you in advance!

EDIT: After getting some more info from my dad, it seems it’s not that easy to upgrade it, but it’s possible. My question stands. Is it safe to do it?

Here are a few relevant point to upgrading to Debian 9:

Debian 9 (“Stretch”) is still in dev/testing. It’s possible to run into issues in the usage of Debian 9, and it’s possible to run into complications from the upgrade.

That said, most of the changes in a distro release upgrade are to the apt packages–since you tagged this MineOS Turnkey, I’ll assume that this is how you are using MineOS. I haven’t personally upgraded Turnkey to Stretch, so this is all general speculation.

Here are the packages MineOS Turnkey installs: from normal repos & from third-party repos

Most of these standard packages–if upgraded–will continue to work exactly as they did on Debian 8. From that perspective, you should expect no issues from the upgrade (at least I wouldn’t).

Also, NodeJS is installed through apt, but from a separate repository (configured through that script line). This will also ensure NodeJS will remain the right version (which is preferably 4.x).

JDK8 is installed from a separate (but official) repo locked into this version. If Stretch makes a newer version available, this will not be downloaded/utilized unless you go through the steps to uninstall it (not necessary, or at least: not necessary until you confirm everything else went well)

To that end, I expect upgrading to be safe. But as always, you should go through preventative measures to protect against upgrade-related issues:

• Stop all your servers beforehand (obvious, right?)
  • Make an archive of your servers