Updating existing Turnkey appliance

Back in November 2020 I installed a MineOS appliance based on TKL and I appear to be running (via /etc/turnkey_release) the turnkey-core-14.0-stretch-amd64 appliance. Now maybe I misclicked back in November and downloaded an old one, or maybe the new appliance wasn’t there then. Point is today there is an appliance ISO based on TurnKey 16 and I want to upgrade. The Python on TKL 14 is Python 3.5, and I want a more modern python, more modern JDK, etc. I don’t want to lose the minecraft servers and world data that I have on the old appliance.

Reading the docs on TKL, it seems you don’t upgrade in place. They want you to install a new appliance. That’s fine, too. I’m an experienced sysadmin and it’s easy to create a new appliance VM and base it on the new ISO.

How do I migrate my data?

What do I need to migrate in order to get all my Minecraft servers and all their data from the old TKL14 appliance to the new TKL16 one? Is it anything more than copying across /var/games/minecraft? I don’t know what cron(8) or other subsystems might be customised on my old appliance. Will the profiles, scheduled jobs, and other things come across, too?

Did I miss a link to some documentation somewhere? Sorry if I did.

Support it through architecture?