Unable to access Jarfile

Hi, this is my first time establishing a Minecraft server and my second time using linux for anything.

I have set up MineOS on my laptop, accessed it by webUI and psftp, imported the archive for the game I had running before. The Start button doesn’t work on the webUI, and when I go into psftp to start the server I get this error:

Unable to access jarfile minecraft_server.1.15.2.jar

So far I have tried renaming the jar file, re-downloading it, and using different arguments in the process of opening it. The command I normally would use is:

java -Xmx1024M -Xms1024M -jar minecraft_server.1.15.2.jar nogui

I am not getting any logs that I can see, and there are no additional messages like I saw in this post: Unable to start any server

Should I be checking java for updates or something? How can I find the problem?

Thank you

EDIT: I just checked the Profiles page and when I clicked the button to download 1.15.2 I got a 403 error. The most recent profile I’m able to download is 1.12.2 - this also does not run and gives the same error.

This is a really odd combination of errors you’re reporting.

On one hand, getting a HTTP 403 Forbidden error is a foreign server error indicating that you’re requesting a download you’re not authorized to get. Of course, the profiles you’re downloading are all public URLs so 403 shouldn’t ever show up.

Can you share the file /var/log/mineos.log?

You’re running this from the command line? Because MineOS is just a front-end, so indeed we can do a lot of troubleshooting outside of the webui, in the terminal.

What is the actual output you get when you attempt to run the server manually with such a command?

Well, I’m trying to use sftp to get the log but I’m getting local: unable to open mineos.log