Total Noob brand new MineOS. Would like to learn more

Hi all,

I recently moved away from the all too expensive hosting services for minecraft and am travelling down the path of running my own server. MineOS is by far the easiest way of doing this even for someone like myself who’s only knowledge of command line is when I google a questions and tinker around the edges to meet my needs.

Before I go into anything specific and annoy the more knowledgeable people in this forum with totally noobish questions, where would be a good place to start learning this mine OS system? and I mean START.

Ive been reading a little on these forums and I noticed people talking about GUIs rather than command line and doing upgrades and the like. Id like to do that but I need to understand my system first. For those that I know will ask. I’m running a desktop i7 (unsure of the real specifics as its just a second hand job, but it is running a spigot and a technic server quite happily) 16G RAM 15 for the servers and 1 for the OS. I installed MineOS from a download and it set up the desktop and gave what I needed to get started. Real impressed there. Unfortunately I’m at a bit of a loss when it comes to anything else. As I said before, I’m not good with command line code and would like somewhere to go to see if I can answer my own questions before I pester anyone else.

Cheers

For starters, I’ve based MineOS Turnkey on the Turnkey distribution system, which is basically a fancy way of saying “a Debian system.” Debian and Ubuntu are some of the most popular distros and–for the most part–anything you read online that applies to either will be useful to learn.

As far as “where to start”, when it comes to learning Linux…that’s tough. People certainly will absorb information and seek out information at different paces and different methods and for different areas.