[SOLVED] Ubuntu installation java and file access help

i have an ubuntu server 17.04 installer and i want to know if there is a non script way to install MineOS to it and is there a way to access the server files easily with something like filezilla? i wish to know before i install.

also when using MineOS-on-Ubuntu, how do i update java to java 8?

You can run all the commands from the script individually, like the wiki walks you through. Am I misunderstanding your request?

There’s also mineos via Docker (and mineos as a plugin to FreeNAS). But if you’re asking if there’s an apt install mineos, unfortunately no.

Are you sure 17.04 isn’t already offering JDK8 by default? I know 16.04 does.

sry, im a noob at this. anyway, my request is is there a .run file or something similar so i dont have to type out the script. my dad says ubuntu is best soo idk… also, whats FreeNAS?

sorry, i just discovered MineOS today…

Would such a file do anything different than running the one script you have to run to install MineOS from the wiki?

i want to have everything on file so i can run everything from the same place. (im currently on a win 10 laptop and i am placing files on a disk to run quickly)

also, what about the file thing?

and is ubuntu server or desktop better for this? (setting up on an old 8gb ram computer with 5 HDD’s)

Alright, I understand you’re new to Linux but you’ll need to work with me a bit.

The wiki does a very specific thing: it gives you the necessary instructions and tells you what each line does. What about the wiki’s instructions aren’t good for you?

1 Like

sorry, it just looks too complicated for me. im looking at it w/ my dad.
what about the other stuff?

speaking of which, im 13…