Setting up A Minecraft BEDROCK Server using MineOS Turnkey server not accessible

Hi,
I am new to both MineOS and Minecraft as have never played it. However I am trying to setup a Minecraft server based on Bedrock for my son and his friends can play together as they’re all on different platforms (Xbox, PC and Switch), so far I’ve managed to setup the server and login to the server.

In order to test that the server is working I’ve been trying to connect from my own Nintendo Switch and providing the server details (IP&Port) but get a Connection impossible error message.

I currently can’t test otherwise as I don’t have any other version available to test.

Any idea of why I can’t connect using the Switch, do note that I’ve done all the necessary setup on the server and have also open the relevant ports and done the port forwarding on my firewall.

Thanks in advance for your help

Annoyingly, last I checked, you can’t directly connect to a server from the switch, or any other console. The only supported method is using a realm.
For consoles you’d have to utilise a dns proxy workaround to enable access to a self-hosted bedrock server.
Super annoying!

Hi,

Thanks for the info, I thought the whole purpose of Bedrock Server was to allow multi-platform gaming, how come a workaround needs to be used?
Can you tell me where I can find more information on the DNS workaround? if that consist of setting the DNS server manually on the Switch, I’ve done that following a tutorial I saw on Youtube but no joy either so if you have any other hints, I’m willing to give them a try.

Yes, multi-platform using Realms or be a supported server (not sure how that works exactly).
Yes the DNS hack on youtube, can’t guarantee it still works, but I would expect it should.
I assume there are differences for hosting a bedrock server on MineOS TKL @Tucks can you assist?
At the least I assume a different port might be required, if so the firewall would need to be modified to allow the correct port.