Server crash on Raspberry pi 3 (raspbian, minecraft 1.9.4)

Hi everyone, I’m a total newbie on Linux and Rpi.
Since there are many successful cases, I thought it’s quite easy to set a minecraft server on Rpi, alone with faster CPU, I can play with more friends online.
But while I followed the tutorial on mineOS wiki and start running my server, many problems pops out…

Here are problems and how I tried to solve them.

1. Server log on webUI does not update automatically, thus I have to manually refresh webpage to see new logs.

2. The big problem is, the 1st time start took very very long time to prepare spawn area, almost 3 hours. I type $top to see CPU status, and it shows java used over 100% cpu while server preparing.
    
    This problem was solved by changing java from openJDK to oracleJRE
    It only take less than 1 min to start a new world now. But another problem has come.

3. After the server seems stable, I use $top again, and find java only use about 30% CPU, but in a 3-5 interval, it spike to 100%.
    Some article said adding nogui while start java can solve this problem, but it does’t work in my scene.

4. Finally, I logged in with PC, in about 3min, server just crashed.
    I went back to see server log.

These are problems annoying me a lot… Can anyone teach me how to solve them, please!

Hi Dasun_Lin,

A bit more information please.

First, Do you have any ‘mods’ installed for 1.9.4?

Second, Did you update the MineOS directly after your installation?

Third, What is you commit version?

Fourth, Have you enabled ‘root’ access on port 22 for SSH/SFTP?

Fifth, Is there any reason whatsoever to have set your java heap memory min/max so low?

Thanks,

tNt

1 Like

Hi tNt,
Thanks for your reply, you remind me that there are many things I should check.
Here I can only answer some of your questions because Rpi is somewhere I can’t reach now.

1. There is no mod installed, I’m using official server.