Putty Server unexpectedly closed network connection

Hello, I have tried looking around on the web for answers and I am not a expert in any of this stuff but would like to know more.
Any-who, I have been having some issues with my server randomly stop functioning and I am trying to look for logs that can tell me what is going on.

My server does not have a monitor so I thought putty (which i know little about) would be a good way for my to connect visually to my server instead how having to unplug my keyboard and monitor from my main pc to check this stuff out.

I keep getting a error ever time I try to connect saying “Server unexpectedly closed network connection” and nothing appears in the box.

Does anyone know how to teach me the fix in layman’s terms?

also once on my server how do I find the logs I need to find out why my server is doing what it is doing, it ran for 40 hrs and 2 scheduled restarts with zero issues and some time lastnight it became unresponsive and booted me from the game and the webui.

The log for mineos.log itself:
/var/log/mineos.log

The log for your minecraft server:
/var/game/minecraft/servers/(servername)/logs/latest.log

hi the_scruffy_guy,

it’s me again. i can see you are well on your way in the adventure we have also been on. have fun!

about putty, i tried it a very long time ago and found the command line interface not much more helpful than the CLI that already comes with MineOS. there is even another GUI that has a CLI called Webmin that i found useful. it is still there but has now been disabled by default.

i digress. let me make a wild guess since you failed to provide the most basic of information. you tried to log in with putty as root. true or false?

root log in is still there but has also been disabled by default.