No one outside my network can join the server

For the past couple of days I’ve been troubleshooting everything. I’ve check the port and its listed as filtered (rejecting incoming). I’ve checked iptables and all 3 show up as (policy ACCEPT). some weird things that have happen are every time I restart the system I need to reconfigure the network and when I checked for my ip on the system using ss -tulpn it showed as *:25565 in the list. I’m not sure what network card I have and I don’t know how I check that on MineOS.

I’m very new to Linux in general so if you need more info don’t be afraid to ask.

P.S. I do know my public ip and I can run a server on my personal desktop and a server will run no problem allowing friends to join outside my network.

To let people connect from outside your network you need to do setup “port forwarding” on your router. It will look a little something like this:
WAN IP = 1.2.3.4
LAN IP of server = 10.1.1.5
Port forward will let people connect to your WAN IP 1.2.3.4:25565 and your router will forward that traffic on to 10.1.1.5:25565 in your internal network.

The exact menu and phrasing will vary from vendor to vendor.

Use the command ‘ifconfig’ to show what network adapters and addresses are assigned.

i have port forwarded and reforwarded incase i missed something. I’ve given friends outside of my network the external ip and they cant connect. I can connect internally. ive also tried making a server on my personal rig and that will allow other outside my network to connect then. it just wont work on the dedicated server im trying to use.

ive done that and it only show the internal ip. i know my external ip (assuming other forums are right and i only have 1 external ip) and have given that to friends to try and connect.

What distro are you using?