MineOS not recognizing Java 8

Hello, I’m fairly new to MineOS and I’m running it off a FreeNAS server.
I was able to install the latest Forge for Minecraft 1.11, and get other players connected to my server. But once I started adding mods to the server I got errors saying some mods required Java 8 to run.

After lots of trial and error I was able to install the openjdk8 package into the MineOS jail using “pkg install openjdk8” and I even ran “java -version” to get

openjdk version “1.8.0_112”
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_112-b16)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.112-b16, mixed mode)

But even then my server returns the error “mods require java 8”
Am I missing something simple here or am I doing the whole thing wrong?

Error message:
http://i.imgur.com/sXBQaZC.png

hi SpoonlessTaco,

i don’t think it did what you thought it did. and i am not sure java 8 is your actual problem anyway (looking at FreeNAS with suspicion), but you can try this:

from the MineOS console logged in as ‘root’ you can please try exactly, not one more or less number, letter, space or punctuation mark. exactly line by line:

sh -c ‘echo “deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/java/ubuntu precise main” >> /etc/apt/sources.list’

sh -c ‘echo “deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/java/ubuntu precise main” >> /etc/apt/sources.list’

apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys EEA14886

apt-get update

apt-get install oracle-java8-installer

reboot

please let us know if it helps or any further error messages you get.

best regards, and good luck!

tNt

I think these lines were meant to be used with a Debian based system, not a BSD-based one, though.

Let’s check out which path MineOS is deciding to use.

Drop into your jail as the user from the webui and try out the following:

cd /usr/games/minecraft
nodejs  //should drop you into a node prompt, or try just `node`
var which = require('which');
which.sync('java');