MineOS installed on Ubuntu - Host a website on same server?

Hi!

I’m relatively new to MineOS, having used Turnkey for a couple of years with mixed success (a lot because of a 4GB RAM server and memory leaks).
Now I’ve moved to a “Much” better Ubuntu server with 2x quad core Xeon’s + 32GB RAM, and I’m currently only running MineOS on this Ubuntu server. Latest version, and it works perfectly!!

But I’ve also set up Overviewer to (currently) run every night at 00:00, but I don’t have a web server for it yet.
I was wondering if there is any possibility to set up a site (port 80) which goes straight to the output of Overviewer (wherever it is easier to access it). Is https needed? Where can it be stored?

I’m not quite sure how the MineOS Web-UI is set up, and how I can have another site on port 80. (MineOS is currently set to 8080 (8443 isn’t opened in FW yet). Can I “easily” set up a page where “domain.com” is directed to Overviewer’s rendered map, while “domain.com:8080” is directed to MineOS Web-UI?

Sorry for my ignorance here, but I’m a bit new on the web part of Linux.

Though the webui is a webserver, you can just as readily think of MineOS as just some service on 8080; it is isolated and self-contained.

To start up a webserver for your own overviewer map, you can set it up alongside the webui. For example, if you downloaded nginx, it’d run on 80 (or 443, etc), and it wouldn’t interfere with MineOS, nor would it need to know that MineOS even exists, in its config.

HTTPS is not required for either nginx nor MineOS, but there are reasons to prefer it whenever authentication is put to use.

TLDR; if you follow any tutorial that helps you set up overviewer, provided you do not deliberately run it on port 8080 (where your MIneOS is running), it will work.