Installing MineOS while booted into another OS

Hello,

I am somewhat new to Linux and would like to be new to MineOS, really like the whole idea.
However, I have problems installing MineOS and only get the error “Unable to find a medium containing a live filesystem”. I tried on 3 different computers, and I also tried regular Ubuntu Server, but get the same issue everytime. I am sick and tired of trying different BIOS settings and USB sticks etc.
My idea:
Having the destination harddrive plugged into another Computer (Windows 10, Manjaro or Ubuntu 18.04 would be easy, as they are installed), installing it inside a VM that has the harddrive allocated and then just swapping the harddrive into the destination Computer.

Here is the catch, I never used VMs and have no idea of what even to search on the internet. Can you guys help me? Is this a smart idea or complete bullshit? :smiley:

Greetings

Making an image on a VM the applying it to a physical box may be more problematic than you are looking for. The drivers in linux is file based and isn’t as easy to “swap” builds like that. You can use a VM solution and simply run it on whichever physical host of your choice. For that I recommend Oracle’s VirtualBox. It’s free, simple to setup and robust.

As for booting up from a live disk… some USBs drives may have multiple portions and not set to actively boot. Might have to scrap the portion table completely and rebuild it. I haves tried SD cards in a long time, but I believe that they won’t boot unless the BIOS allows it.

Welcome to the community!

I like the idea of what you want to do however, you would be severely bottlenecked by the read and write speed of a flash drive.You would be better off having installed with the MineOS.iso which is built with Turnkey or you can have it installed with a different OS like Ubuntu Server and that’s what I’m using.