Can't sucessfully setup a Spigot server

I installed MineOS on an old PC two or so months ago, and successfully made a vanilla world which worked perfectly (a complement to your OS). That basically sums up my entire Linux experience; I’m a complete novice.

Recently I have wanted to add protection plugins and the like to make my server a little more people friendly. After some research I decided the way was Bukkit. Alas, the takedown has made that unavailable. So I tried Spigot.

Here’s what I did (all logged in as mc):

-Custom Profile:
- profile name: spigot
- type: Standalone, runnable JAR
- Download URL: https://hub.spigotmc.org/jenkins/job/BuildTools/lastSuccessfulBuild/artifact/target/BuildTools.jar
- Save download as: BuildTools
- Jarfile to run: BuildTools
- Jarfile arguments:

Updated the profile, got a tick mark. Created a new server with the spigot profile. Says the server is successfully created. When I go to run it, it says it was successfully started, but it does not progress beyond that. It remains Offline, even after repeatedly telling it to start.

I have tried manually dragging the .jar across with WinSCP. No luck. However, that was as Root and from what I read there may be a permissions problem involved.

Running the server on my main PC with Git Bash seems to work, loads of files get downloaded and whatnot (so no problems with the file).

Am I doing this right?

Profiles are just a shorthand way of running a simple Java command, but from the webui.

In your case, the webui will execute the following command each time you hit start: java -jar BuildTools -xmx1024M -xms1024M NA

although it was probably unintentional that you left .jar off of each of those two values, it incidentally isn’t causing any problem. The problems are these:

1. Running buildtools repeatedly will only ever download and build the expected jar–it won’t execute the server and make it playable.