Administration Troubles

I’m brand new to Minecraft and MineOS, but I’ve messed with Linux for a very long time. I started a VirtualBox VM with turnkey/debian linux from the iso and it all worked great. My son and some friends logged in and all worked as expected. I left most of the defaults (except server name) and did a few manual restore points and an archive and the files were created properly without any errors.

A few days ago, I noticed my server load crept up to 6-7* even with just 2 people logged in, so I decided to have them logout so I could do a restore point and reboot the VM. I figured maybe it was java since it was over 400% CPU used in top, but memory use and other system stats looked normal. To my surprise, after the reboot we lost about a days worth of character progress (specifically, all inventory items and xp), but the world was restored properly. Things we had just built 5 min before the reboot and items in chests, etc., were still there. I’m not sure why the server didn’t restore everything equally. Maybe because I didn’t have the “save-all” option checked as it isn’t by default? I assumed it was a basic linux daemon that could be stopped and started and resume from where it left off.

• I have an 8 core, 16 thread AMD 2700x so it wasn’t touching the host machine much at all. It was something like 30% CPU total. Also, 400% CPU and load averages at 6-7 for linux are not “too” weird on such a CPU.

The next day, I needed to reboot Windows on the host machine for an update, so I rebooted the server from the console (the blue/gray menu on tty7), shut down the VM, rebooted my PC and restarted the VM. I had the “save-all” checked this time, so I thought it would just pick up within 20 min of where it left off, since it was auto saving every 20 min. Instead, we lost a days worth of world changes, but this time we kept character progress (xp, inventory, etc).